- Tax Facts
The Prince George’s County Treasury Division, Office of Finance is the Tax Collector for several governmental taxing authorities that include: Prince George’s County, State of Maryland, Incorporated Municipalities, Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission (M-NCPPC) and the Washington Suburban Transit Commission (WSTC). The taxes you pay are determined by multiplying the assessed value by the applicable tax rate and dividing by $100.
- TAX RATE
- MUNICIPAL TAX RATE DIFFERENTIAL
- OTHER CHARGES
- PROPERTY ASSESSMENTS
- CONSTANT YIELD TAX RATE
- TAX BILL CALENDAR
|BRENTWOOD TAX RATE*|
|$.41500 per $100 Assessed Value|
|COUNTY TAX RATE*|
|$1.0000 per $100 Assessed Value|
|STATE TAX RATE|
|$0.1120 per $100 Assessed Value|
|M-NCPPC TAX RATE|
|$0.2940 per $100 Assessed Value|
|STORMWATER/FLOOD CONTROL TAX RATES|
|$0.0540 per $100 Assessed Value – Area 1|
|$0.0120 per $100 Assessed Value – Area 2|
|WSTC TAX RATE|
|$0.0260 per $100 Assessed Value|
|* The County tax rate is reduced for properties located within|
|incorporated areas (municipalities).|
Prince George’s County levies a separate tax rate, referred to as the “municipal tax rate differential,” that applies to property located within a particular Incorporated Municipality. This differential reduces the County’s property tax revenues to recognize governmental services and programs that municipal governments perform instead of similar County services to the extent that such services are funded through property tax revenues.
You may be subject to additional charges on your tax bill such as the State Bay Restoration charge if you utilize a private septic system, a Federally-mandated Clean Water Act fee to address stormwater runoff pollution, a Solid Waste charge for trash and recycling services or a Front Foot Benefit charge if your property is connected to water and/or sewer lines. There also may be special area taxes to pay the debt service on bonds that finance specific infrastructure improvements
The State Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT) determines the assessed value of all real property in the State of Maryland. When the value goes up, the increase is spread equally over a three-year period. When the value goes down, it stays at the reduced amount for a three-year period. The change takes effect on July 1st of the following year. The assessed value is printed in the top right section of the tax bill. For more information, please refer to www.dat.maryland.gov and type Assessments Guide in the Search Bar.
The Constant Yield Tax Rate is simply a property tax rate that, when applied to new assessments, will result in the taxing authority receiving the same revenue in the coming year that was produced in the prior year. The County’s real property tax rate as of July 1, 2018, was $1.00, and the certified assessable real property as of July 1, 2018, in the unincorporated area was $60.8 billion. The assessment multiplied by the rate produced real property tax revenues of $608.1 million. For the taxable year 2020, the certified assessment of the net assessable real property in the unincorporated area is $62.0 billion. To produce the same real property tax revenues as 2019, the real property tax rate would be $0.9802. However, for FY20 the County’s actual real property tax rate is $1.0000. This will result in County property tax revenues of $12.3 million above the constant yield.
|JULY ||Open Tax/Fiscal Year – July 1st|
|AUGUST||Annual Tax Bill Mailed|
|SEPTEMBER||Full Tax Payment Due by the 30th (or First Half of Semi-Annual Payment)|
|NOVEMBER||Second Tax Bill Sent to Delinquent and Semi-Annual Property Owners (Non-mortgage accounts only)|
|DECEMBER||Second Half of Semi-Annual Payment Due by the 31st|
|MARCH||Final Delinquent Tax Bill Printed in “Red Ink” Mailed to Property Owner|
|APRIL||Delinquent Property Tax Listings Advertised in Local Papers and Online at https://taxsale.princegeorgescountymd.gov |
|MAY ||Limited and Public Auctions of Tax Lien Certificates – Second Monday|
|Tax Sale Registration Begins|
|JUNE ||Close Tax/Fiscal Year – June|
CHANGE TAX BILL MAILING ADDRESS
To update your mailing address, complete and print the Property Owner Change of Address Form located on the State website at www.dat.maryland.gov. Type Real Property Change of Address in the Search Bar or send a letter requesting an address change to the Supervisor of Assessments:
MAIL: 14735 Main Street, Ste. 354B, Upper Marlboro, MD 20772
FAX: (301) 952-2955
The letter must be signed and must include:
• Name of the property owner (or legal representative)
• Account number
• Property address
• Mailing address for future mailings
• Daytime telephone number
TAX BILL INFORMATION
|Assessment Information Website||www.dat.maryland.gov|
|Bay Restoration Charge: State Inquiry||1-800-633-6101|
|Clean Water Act Fee||301-883-5833|
|County Treasury Division||301-952-4030|
|Homeowners Tax Credit||1-800-944-7403|
|Homestead Tax Credit||1-866-650-8783|
|Park and Planning Tax||301-952-3560|
|Solid Waste Service Charge||311|
|State Assessment Office||301-952-2500|
|Stormwater/Flood Control Charge||301-883-6211|
|Tax Bill Website||www.princegeorgescountymd.gov|
|WSSC Front Foot Benefit Charge||301-206-8032|
TAX BILL PAYMENT OPTIONS
INTERNET: Make payment by e-Check, Debit Card, or Credit Card* (American Express, Discover, MasterCard or Visa accepted) at County website http://taxinquiry.princegeorgescountymd.gov/.
MAIL: Make Check or Money Order payable to: Prince George’s County, Maryland, include account number and mail to: P.O. Box 17578, Baltimore, MD 21297-1578. Do NOT mail cash. Payment must be RECEIVED by the due date to avoid late fees.
IN PERSON: Pay by Cash, Check, Money Order, Debit Card, or Credit Card* (American Express, Discover, MasterCard or Visa accepted) at the address on the front cover of this brochure. Free parking and shuttle buses are available at the Equestrian Center near the Route 4 exit ramp. Limited metered parking is available at the building.
*A service fee of $1.49 is applied to all e-Check payments and a 2.5% service fee is applied to all credit and debit card payments.
Interest and penalties of 1.67% are added each month to overdue tax bills. The County will also attach a lien to the property for unpaid taxes. The lien will be sold to the highest bidder at the annual tax sale held the second Monday in May. Once the lien is sold, the property owner is responsible for paying the amount due for unpaid taxes and costs which may include but is not limited to, additional interest and penalties, court costs and attorney fees, and all other expenses allowed by State law.
- Maryland Department of Assessment and Taxation
- Real Property Data Search
- Tax Bill Website
- Property Tax Inquiry and Bill Payment System @(Model.BulletStyle == CivicPlus.Entities.Modules.Layout.Enums.BulletStyle.Decimal ? "ol" : "ul")>